The Village is governed by a President-Trustee form of government. The Village Board is comprised of eight elected officials, including a Village President (Mayor), six Trustees and a Village Clerk, with the Board of Trustees being the Legislative Department of the Village. 

The elected officials serve staggered four-year terms and are elected “at-large”, meaning each official represents the whole Village.

The Board of Trustees regularly meets at 7:00 pm on the 3rd Tuesday of each month. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers at the Municipal Building, 830 Sheridan Road (Northwest corner of the 9th Street & Sheridan Road intersection). All meetings are open to the public and include a public comment period during which residents may address the Board.

The regular meeting schedule for 2023 is as follows:
January 17
February 21
March 21
April 18
May 18
June 20
July 18
August 15
September 19
October 17
November 21
December 19