Winthrop Harbor School District #1 is an elementary school district based in Winthrop Harbor, the northernmost settlement in the state of Illinois. The mission statement reads it is  the foundation for confident, productive, life-long learners.

It is composed of two schools, Westfield School and North Prairie Junior High School. Students between grades Kindergarten and fourth grade are educated at Westfield School, and then enter North Prairie Junior High School, which serves grades fifth through eight. 

After eighth grade students then transition to the Zion-Benton Township Public High School or one of the several private schools in the area.